Linkage: 24/2/11

Two things have recently occured to me: that updates to this blog are few and far between, and that I come across a lot of great links and articles on the Internet every day and don’t do much with them. Sometimes I repost a link or two on Twitter or Facebook, but most often I just read them and then move on. So, in an attempt to put more content on here while I finish up the hideously late second part of my favourite films of 2010, I’m putting up links a few of the best things I’ve read online recently, in an irregular ongoing series. (“Linkage” was literally the second title I came up with, right after “Tubescrapings”. I think I made the right decision.)

Given what’s currently going on in Libya, David Rose’s Vanity Fair piece on Tony Blair’s dealings with the Gaddafi regime is essential reading.

And on that note … Tony Loves Dictators. Thank you Tumblr.

An expose on the school test-scoring industry in the US. I’d be very surprised if a similar situation wasn’t going on in UK exam boards. (Via the very interesting Longreads tumblr.)

Neal Stephenson on lock-in, path dependency and rockets.

7 Google Chrome Annoyances and How to Fix Them.

The New Yorker’s Adam Gopnik looks at the recent trend of books about the Internet’s effect on us.

Five Emotions Invented By The Internet.

Leave a comment

Filed under linkage

Leave a Reply

